Posts by Terence T

I appreciate the advice, but with respect I've been playing guitar since 1991. Been in studios since around then, started a small home studio in 2004. I know what good speakers sound like.

Try adding a bit of Clarity from the amp section or dropping the gain when you switch from single coil to humbucker. You’re driving the amp harder with the Paul than you are with the Strat causing more distortion I believe.

Pick ups on one of my starts is hot, the other strat is a bit weaker. The LP is in between the two.

I've just been trying the Britt Mars J800 1 5 2. It actually sounds fine to me - not my kind of thing but perfectly playable.

Perhaps a new set of questions is needed. How are you monitoring these sounds? Are you using good quality studio monitors with a studio quality sound card? You probably haven't given us enough information about your system for us to be of much help.

I have to say that I don't like a lot of the profiles out there. To my ears many of them are over-bright and too edgy for my purposes. It has taken me a while to create a library of sounds that suit me.

I did mention I'm using an RME Fireface in all fairness. Using Swan monitors, will be upgrading later in year possibly. Headphones, Sennheiser HD25. Going into Reaper.

I could post a clip when I get the chance, but I'm not sure what anyone can suggest. I've been through all the functions on the Kemper I can find, plus taken on board the kind suggestions here. There's nothing moire to really try, though I'll keep going with it for a while.

I'm back at the same point I was with POD HD, endless tweaking with no real satisfying results. It could be that the Kemper quite simply isn't for me.

Thanks for the suggestions all, I've tried everything mentioned here.