Posts by stratdude

I believe Tommy uses a piezo and an on board mic blended together live fwiw. But yes, I couldn't imagine why you would record an acoustic sim, at least never in a professional setting.

It's funny as a guitarist, you lose the ability to hear music from a non musician's perspective, but it's surprising how often the average punter can hear that something doesn't sound right although they don't know why.

A real acoustic will always have a more natural ambience about it, a sim will always sound somewhat synthetic.

Can't wait to give it a try though!

That's got me thinking... I was a huge Steve Vai fan (still am) in the DLR era which was just before I started playing guitar at the age of 12, Nuno and Slash as well, but Patsy Biscoe was the reason I wanted to play guitar since I was about 3 or 4, had to pretend on a toy ukulele for a few years

I ordered 2 IcePower 250a amps with power supply that I will put inside the cabs! they will be powered cabs and Stereo :)

This is what I would be doing if I didn't have a power rack. Even if you're not comfortable with wiring it up, give it to an amp tech to do and you've got the neatest all in one solution

I've never really understood the appeal of the "amp in the room" thing if you're into modeling. We spend a lot of time and money finding the correct profiles that provide that perfect mic'd up sound that we're used to hearing on our favorite recordings. Everybody wants Eddie's tone...or Stevie's tone...or Angus' tone...or whoever you like. But those classic tones are mic'd up sounds.

Why the desire to hear something different than what the audience hears?