Posts by ConradK

ConradK,

I'm new to the Kemper too, and probably have a similar background. I've been playing Electric guitar for a little over 30 years and I have more great tube amps and guitars than I can give sufficient attention to. I bought the Kemper because I play in a situation that is striving to drastically reduce stage volume. We have an off stage amp/cab room and run tube amps to cabs in the amp room, so I can run my amps as loud as I want to run them, but I still have the monitoring issue of monitoring my off stage mic'd cab.

So, I thought why not try a solution like the Kemper. It really is a very useful tool to have in the tool box and it easily does some things that are really difficult to do with a traditional amp. I'm not getting rid of my other amps, but I don't think I'll be getting rid of the Kemper either:) In my short stint with the Kemper my favorite commercial profiles have been MBritt and The Amp Factory. Tone Junkie has some cool stuff too, and you can get a bunch of profiles from them for free, which is a good way to sample their stuff and see what you like. The Amp Factory has a free rig pack in Rig exchange also, give it a try. I have bought all of their Hiwatt profiles, but there are a few free ones in the free rig pack. They sound great for hard rock stuff, and are pretty spot on to my ear compared to Hiwatts I've played in the past. They are a nice addition to the Marshall profiles with the type of sounds you described in your original post.

thanks buddy - I’ll try that tomorrow - SOOOO MANY good profiles - soooo little time !

I managed to get my FRFR speaker sounding great today - ( low cut to 75hz and high cut at 5000hz ) to simulate the frequency response of my creamback - LOVING IT, now!!!!

Never understood frequency roll offs of guitar speakers - now that I do , it’s made a WORLD of difference as my ears are in familiar territory. I’ll start expanding the top end once my ears settle completely into the FRFR thing.