Posts by Mookytc

I edited my post above and took out a excerpt about an annoying noise I was getting while using the countryman device. When profiling would hear the three alien kemper noises but there was some weird noise going on which I could not pinpoint. Profiles turn ok except on higher gain capture was not reading accurate in definition. Should have been a much higher - brighter number.

Again I am a kemper - profiling newb so this may not be 100% accurate but this morning the noise was still irking me. Took all the connections down to basics. Tested the DI box alone with amp and all worked fine so it was not the box or the amp. Kemper seems fine but looked at the cabling. Was using a speaker cable in step 3 to go from back of the amp into DI device. Switched it to an instrument cable, ran a speaker cable from DI into the back of the cab, and attempted a profile.

Results were good and the weird noises (outside of kemper alien sounds) were gone. The higher gain capture was a little hissy before capture but that was not the noise I was hearing (usual higher gain amp hiss). Guess I was using the wrong cabling in step 3.

Maybe this will help someone at some point. Your mileage many vary.

I tried a countryman type 85 today and for the most part was pleased with the results. That said I had a ton of noise through the guitar cab while the amp was captured. Heard the usual three step Kemper alien noses but there was another loud constant noise through out. It could have been the amp as most of the captures were of gain channels (though not set absurd levels). Notice if I do not use a gate on the Kemper I can hear the noise albeit not over powering.

Attached the Countryman connections from another thread.