Recording Kemper Profiler via USB vs. S/PDIF: A Scientific Comparison

• The Profiler Model referred to in this thread is ...
    ☑️ Profiler Head/Rack

Dear Kemper users,

Hello, my name is Alexx Bean, and I am a recording artist (links below) using the Kemper Profiler Rack.

I prefer to record my Kemper via coaxial S/PDIF RCA cables into my Universal Audio Apollo x6, because such method reduces the number of A/D D/A conversions from three to one juxtaposed with recording the "Master Stereo" signal from the "Main Output."

With a recent OS update, many of us can turn our Kempers into USB audio interfaces. I was considering switching from S/PDIF to USB, so I decided to conduct a detailed test to compare the two methods. I measured the amount of time in samples from the "DI Analog" signal to the "DI High/DI" signal arriving from S/PDIF and USB respectively. For context, "DI Analog" is a straight analog split from input to "Direct Output." "DI High/DI" is a line level digital signal with correct phase lock with the amp sound. The result is that S/PDIF always comes out as having less time difference in samples from its "DI High/DI" signal to the "DI Analog" signal over the difference in time between USB's "DI High/DI" signal and the "DI Analog" signal. Please see test details below. I'm not saying USB does or does not sound better than S/PDIF, but S/PDIF certainly is "faster" than USB when configured properly and may give you better "feel" when tracking. S/PDIF is also "faster" than "Main Output" when configured properly (Kemper is Master Clock, 44.1kHz sample rate).

Couple of notes:

• If you connect your two S/PDIF cables from Kemper to Apollo, set your sample rate to 44.1kHz in Pro Tools, set the Kemper as the Master Clock, and your Apollo's clock source to S/PDIF, then you can record the purest digital signal. At any other sample rate or if Apollo is Master Clock, the Kemper will add additional latency.