Posts by nelsona

Hello,

I plan on purchasing an interface (Prism Lyra 2 or Prism Titan) to be used alongside the Kemper for a small home recording studio and was wondering if someone could verify my wiring scheme, as I'm new to pro recording gear.

Note: Wiring schemes have been ordered from most preferred to least preferred. By most preferred I mean cheapest to implement as well as requiring the fewest amount of hardware.

Thank you,
    Nelson

################################################
    Wiring Scheme 1 - Most preferred wiring scheme

Components: Audio Interface (2 analog in / 2 digital in / 4 analog out) - Prism Lyra 2, Kemper, DI / Pre-Amp - BAE 1073, Headphone Power AMP, guitar, piano, microphone and computer.

[Blocked Image: https://cdn.pbrd.co/images/8nhV1wYzc.png]

Note:
    For a larger version, please use the following link: http://pasteboard.co/8nhV1wYzc.png

Purple - Instrument out (ex. piano or guitar) to pre-amp DI in.

Blue - Microphone out to pre-amp Mic In.

Red - Pre-Amp output to interface input - Line 1.

Dark Red - Interface output - Line 1 to Pre-Amp Line In.

Note:
    My intentions for routing the pre-amp in the following manner is to not only use it as a DI / Pre-Amp for my guitar, but also to send other tracks to it from my DAW in order to color the sound.

Green - Kemper SPDIF out to Interface SPDIF in.

Note: The Lyra 2 comes equipped with a sample rate converter on either the input or output (but not both at the same time). I'd use the sample rate converter on the audio interfaces SPDIF input so that I could use the Kemper as the master clock (to re-amp) while keeping my session at 96 Khz.

Lime - Interface output - Line 2 to Kemper's Alternative Input.

Dark Blue - Kemper Direct Output / Send to interface input - Line 2.

Orange - Interface output - Line 3 to headphone power-amp Input R.

Yellow - Interface output - Line 4 to headphone power-amp Input L.

Gray - Headphone power-amp output R to right monitor.