Posts by floyd99

Mine stays powered on 24x7 for literally weeks at a time. Zero issue.
    I leave computers powered on too and the Kemper is basically a small embedded computer but with a much more basic operating system.

Computers are literally designed to do this. I’ve never understood why people think it’s necessary to turn them off.

I work in a hospital on IT infrastructure - out of our fleet of computers, probably a good 4000 of them are literally running 24x7x365 (hospitals don’t sleep). Not once have I heard of an issue with a computer dying because of this. Yes occasional reboots are needed to clear RAM.

Leave it on.. turn it off… whatever you feel like doing :) you’re not gonna break it. Just power it down periodically to clear things. And of course unplug during a storm.

Steve5478

I do theatre shows. They are vastly different to the gigs I assume you do.

Do I adjust parameters in every single rig/performance? YES. I do not use global eq etc. every sound is unique. Every piece of music is individually mixed to suit the scene of what’s going on on-stage. A solo sound in one song might have a Rig volume set vastly lower than another song, because it’s played underneath cast dialogue (talking). I pride myself on having consistency in my sound from one show to the next as the FOH sound operator is NOT actively mixing the band every night - they are focused on the 30 cast radio mics. They rely on the pre-programmed automation and therefore in turn rely on the musicians to be as consistent as possible.

I don’t have the luxury of stopping a rehearsal to say “sorry folks just give me 30 seconds, I think my solo sound in that song needs a slight tweak”.

I make mental (or physical) notes for any changes I want to make that I don’t have time to, and then go back and make them later.