Posts by pacocito

1. The KPA is an amp.
    2. Like many amplifiers it is not perfect either.

None of my amps is perfect, but in all of them I can dial some settings that the KPA can't profile and those settings sound awesome.

Trying to convince me that more than one stage distorting is not good will not work. I've been stacking overdrives pedals for more than 30 years and my favourite amp (a Dumble style amp) sounds awesome when you find the good combination of clean channel gain -> overdrive channel -> the power amp.

A Fuzz Face with both controls at full into a not so clean Marshall with the guitar volume down to taste is another good example of two significantly distorting stages and it sounds awesome and has been recorded by many guitarists.

Because, you can already profile any multitude of amps at any setting with any powertube.

Not any amp can be profiled. It's something known and it's in the the KPA manual.

Besides that, not any settings can be succesfully profiled (multiple stages distorting). Many amps use cascading gain stages to get their characteristic sound and some settings on those amps (some of them awesome) cannot be accurately profiled. This is probably why I never liked any Trainwreck or Dumble profile I tried.

Could stacked overdrives into a not so clean amp be profiled?

Can you please clarify whether the handful of profiles you chose also exhibit the undesirable qualities ? I know you say "all" but I'm just trying to understand.

The KPA is the best digital amp, period. I've been using it for 5 years and half, profiling amps, started a very active spanish speaking community and made hundreds of demos and convinced and helped many users there. I have been a KPA enthusiast since the begining. To those that affirm that the KPA doen't sound good enough to be use in a professional context, try to profile a real good amp and you will be convinced.