Posts by LuizPauloDT

I have been trying to "silently" DI profile my tube amps using a torpedo captor.
    In some situations I got very good results, but sometimes "not even close" as well. But never great, for sure.

In a last attempt to take my profiles to a next level I ordered the Kemper DI.
    I put it in between the amp and the loadbox and guess what: bullseye!
    First attempt, no refining, no post EQing, save, done.
    And it was not an "easy to profile situation".
    It was a TriAxis Lead 2 Yellow pushing HARD a MESA 2:FIFTY power amp, which was one of the "not even close" situations I faced before ...

Now my profiling project is about to start 8)

for what its worth. I am by no means a Kemper expert but all of my DI profile problems were solved by using the Kemper DI. I tried 3 different DI's including a Countryman, a radial and a cheap Beringer but I could never get the DI profiles right. I ran into all sorts of level issues. Too hot or not enough signal. I tried the pads on and off all to no avail. As soon I plugged the Kemper DI into the signal chain everything started working perfect.

I hope it will be the same with me.
    I am trying to improve my DI profiles with the Kemper DI.
    Should arrive this week. Lets see what happens.

Hi!

I have been direct profilling with a Torpedo Captor and I manage to get some very good results. If I profile and go for a walk then come back, I cant tell which is Kemper or the amp. It sounds like the real deal, but not exactly as the reference amp.

However, when profilling I still cant get to the point when A/Bing I could not tell the difference between the profile created and the reference amp, specially when monitoring with headphones.

I tried many different approaches like driving less the power amp or even profilling just the preamp, different levels and so on.

If I get quite good resutls, why am I looking further to improve it?