OK! We have a comprehensive PROFILING DAY coming up, any advice?

• Hi all. I'm VERY NEW to profiling so bare with me and the questions likely to follow please.

Mics I've have:

Dynamic Mics:
    Shure Sm57
    Beyer TGV50D and TGX48

Condenser:

ART M-Four
    Rode NTK and K2

Ribbon:

AEA R84
    Royer 101

My very first profile was on a Victoria 5112 using the ART M-Four Condenser mic. Our very first try yielded an incredible result. Somehow I was able to crank the KPA Gain on that profile and it still sounded awesome. No ice pick to the ear. The mic was flat up against the grill, didn't pick up too much room somehow. Being that it was a test run to learn how to profile, not a lot of attn was spent on actual set up aside from allowing the tubes to warm up and getting the sound we wanted from the amp. Dropped a mic in front and hit profile!

Subsequent attempts with the M-four and other mics were not so favorable no matter how we positioned the amp as well as mic placement. I figured out later that I had some KPA settings screwed up so will have to do another comprehensive test.

Other findings on the first try:

The Shure SM 57 is great as always. I wonder though, if my ears are eager to hear recognizable characteristics of that mic?

So, I found with some of my (now deleted profiles) that although the profile itself sounded good, any added gain from the KPA made it sound thin and harsh. I thought, ah! My favorite profiles I have tried always seemed to be a blend of Royer R121 and SM57. I like the thick body of the royer mic and the clarity in the upper range of the 57. (I think this is what I hear). So, went and bought an AEA r84 and the more affordable Royer 101 to see if my gain issues were condenser mic related. Still not sure as I have to retest all of these mics in an environment more conducive to fair and equal testing.