Posts by dougc84

Thanks for explaining that one way more eloquently than I have patience for!

Even a cursory understanding of VCS or Git would be hugely beneficial for anyone who uses software. People have this crazy idea about code being a huge pile that gets added to all the time... not the case. It's more like a ton of pallets that get carefully and constantly stacked and re-stacked, only its really easy to open up one of those pallets and change what's inside without ruining (or even touching) the rest of the shipping container.

When I graduated college (2007, I have a BS BS (yep, haha) in information systems, with a focus on software development), there was never a mention of Git, Subversion, Mercurial, VCS... none of it. I can't imagine developing without Git these days, even if I'm just developing a project solo. That was only 8 years ago. And what was taught then was simply, when working with teams, just share files or lines of code via IM or email. I can totally understand why the normal consumer doesn't get this stuff if it wasn't even taught in undergraduate, specialty-focused programming courses.

I have a better tone from my Rokit 5's than the cab that I'm using, because I'm getting more or less a FRFR sound. They sound fantastic, and they are, by no means, top of the line monitors. It's convinced me to go FRFR as a Christmas gift to myself :)

Bug fixes and feature development absolutely do not have to happen independently of each other and are not mutually exclusive. A lot of the comments in the thread are derailing the request with hairbrained/whimsical ideas of how some people think development works.

I can promise you this: