Posts by Ruefus

Maybe you’d consider the Fishman Fluence Single Set. there‘s a lot of Information available - I like them pretty much

I've got a set of their Gristle Tones in my Tele. Best upgrade I've ever made.

If I were going to replace the pickups in my Strat - these would be my first choice. Hands down.

I've been using a 3 loop MIDI switcher to control 3 pedals with the Remote. It all functions properly, but there has always been a ticking sound that appears whenever at least one loop is engaged. The workaround has been to be super-quick with the volume pedal. But sometimes that doesn't suffice, and let's fact it - a workaround like this shouldn't be necessary.

I've been working through this problem for the last 18 months. If I were to list all of the things I've done/tried/bought/sold/returned to troubleshoot this problem, we'll be here all day. I've tried it all and stumped more than a few techs with this one. Nothing other than unplugging the MIDI cable quiets the noise. Even a wireless MIDI connection passes the sound.

The wireless MIDI connection passing the sound gave me one last idea. The KPA has to be sending signals, even when normal messages aren't.

What I believe to be the source of this sound is the KPA's MIDI Out constantly sending what's called active sensing messages. If you don't know what that is - count yourself lucky. Its part of the MIDI specification that serves as a way to ask connected devices 'are you still there?'

I've been told by Kemper Support that active sensing cannot be disabled in the KPA. I can't be 100% sure it's the culprit....because I can't disable it to check. But I've (literally) tried everything else I or anyone else I've spoken to can think of.

Since I'm nearly out of ideas.... Is it possible to filter out these unneeded messages and prevent them from reaching the MIDI switcher? Or....is there some double-secret/super-user method of disabling active sensing in the KPA firmware?