Beginner wants to make a video

• Hello people! I recently bought a Kemper and thought this might be the occasion to start recording and maybe even put some stuff out there! The trouble is that I am an absolute beginner in terms of recording audio and image. Therefore, I thought someone might be able to provide me some insight. So the stuff I'd like to do is record a video (with my phone so not necessarily a great image quality) but with the sound of the Kemper which is great. I have a Scarlett 2i2 as a sound interface but no idea what software to use and how to use It, nor how to "connect" the video with the audio.

Thank you in advance for helping the newbie that I am.

• You will need some video editing software to combine the signals and edit. This can be really cheap or even free stuff you definitely don’t need to invest in anything like Final Cut Pro etc. I use iMovie (free with Mac OS). If you are on PC there will be something similar.

Make sure you have a visual and audio cue for syncing the two files. When using live mics a habd clap is a good option. If you are using direct audio from the Kemper I would opt for a visible string mute before you star playing. You can then easily sync images and audio before chopping of the beginning and end sections you don’ t need.

If you plan to record any talking on the video too make sure you mute the mic in editing at any places where the guitar is being plYed otherwise you will still hear phone audio over the Kemper audio but the phone will pick up mainly pick/string noise and sound like s*&t.

Here’s a few I did in iMovie. The first one is all Guitar Rig (before I got the Kemper) the second is Kemper with phone mic for speach

External Content youtu.be
    Content embedded from external sources will not be displayed without your consent.