Posts by SoManyGuitars

Ply is stiffer than MDF. I've said my peace on the MDF vs ply debate in this thread so I won't rehash it. But if you must use MDF for the cab, at the very least, use a quality ply for the baffle.

What does the Kabinet use for the baffle?

You're not really interested but still you're interested enough to know when?^^ Well one reason it's been delayed is so obvious if you didn't sleep thru the whole 2020.

Right... I’m not interested in owning one (perfectly happy with my Kemper, Mesa, Marshall and Fender amps), but I do like to follow new equipment trends. Sorry you seem to have a problem with that.

On the delay, Sweetwater was planned to have them available in November, and that date was announced well into the C19 timeframe. Lots of companies (mine included) produced goods throughout C19... so the delay was not universal, and yes, I work in Healthcare.

Thank you for your sincere and informational response though....:/

What did I miss??

I thought this thing was being sold in November by Sweetwater... now it shows pre-order status.... and (obviously), no reviews...

Not really that interested, but I do a lot with Sweetwater, and knew they planned on a November sell date.

Cool if the OP and others like the BAM Bass Amp.

https://www.tcelectronic.com/product.html?modelCode=P0DI5

Ultra-Compact 200 Watt Bass Head with Class-D Amp Technology

BAM has a preamp optimised for bass with a Class D power amp. That is the only practical way to achieve such high power in such a compact design. No need for big power transformers etc.

Is there a way to bypass the bass preamp (the separate tone stack and gain (distortion/drive) stage), to avoid the coloration it introduces?

I understand how Class D works, and why it’s desirable for an application like the Kemper... but why throw a bass preamp and the extra coloration and circuitry into the signal chain?