Blown my Kemper

• So...you don't even have to unplug from the wall socket even 'though the protector itself is off due to your having turned everything off at the wall, Sonic?

Whenever I hear a storm coming, I unplug everything from the wall sockets. No protection yet unfortunately. Always thought it didn't matter whether or not anything was turned on when lightning hit, and that decoupling altogether from the wall was the only way to go.

Obviously I'm no expert; any advice is appreciated, mate.

I still unplug everything just in case, but the official electrical safety agency in Finland(TUKES) advices that in a city it's not needed since the surge from a lightning is divided by so many households it'll be harmless. In the countryside it's a different matter. I bought myself a 10 euro surge protector from the hardware store just for the kemper too.

• HI all,

My kemper got blow as well. I was plugin the power cable and then turn on the wall socket power.
    Suddenly "Pop" sound comes out. I cannot turn on my kemper at this moment. I believe the Kemper PSU is died...

I am calling the service centre soon, to check can they fix it or not

• Solved,

My Kemper amp has been fixed by Innovative Music which is Australian Certifier Repair. My Kemper powerhead has passed the warranty, which is bought in 2013.
    The turnaround time is only 1 day. The issue was the power supply broken down.
    In addition, since my Kemper bought in 2013, there it should be the early version. The Innovative Music also installed CPU PCB restrainer to the unit.
    Really appreciate the Innovative music - Scott helps.

"Explanation:
    The CPU PCB is a separate board that fits into a a connector on the main board, much the same way a memory fits into a computer.
    On early Kempers’, the CPU board had a tendency to pop out of its holder and rattle around inside the unit.
    This was particularly evident for units that toured a lot and got a lot of bumps along the way."