Is there a DI Box with USB audio out?

• Hi all,

Does anyone know if there is a device that I can connect to the speaker output of my tube amp that will then send the audio to a USB audio out?

Of course it will need either a big pad or a speaker thru connection to handle the load.

I have a two notes cabm which does it, but does not have USB audio out. The other two notes devices are the same.

Any ideas?

Allen

• I don't know of a device like that. You're talking about doing two different things: converting a speaker-level output to a much lower level analog signal that can be passed to another electronic device; and the converting that to digital and sending that via USB. I'm not an expert on every device out there, but I think you'll have to do something similar to what they CABM manual suggests: put a speaker load box of some kind after your amp to get a usable analog signal, and then feed that to another device to convert that to digital.

• I don't know of a device like that. You're talking about doing two different things: converting a speaker-level output to a much lower level analog signal that can be passed to another electronic device; and the converting that to digital and sending that via USB. I'm not an expert on every device out there, but I think you'll have to do something similar to what they CABM manual suggests: put a speaker load box of some kind after your amp to get a usable analog signal, and then feed that to another device to convert that to digital.

Thanks. Yes, you don't need a load box, you can just connect to the speaker in the amp. The cabm will do it by using a small usb audio interface. I am just trying to avoid having 2 boxes.

• Probably something like a UA Ox or Boss Tube Expander.

Interestingly enough the Ox doesn't do it, but the Boss Tube amp expander does. Was just hoping to avoid a big box solution.

Having said that the Boss does a load of other good things - the main downside is the lack of a good editor/interface.