Low Capacitance Guitar Cables

• Hey!

Just a heads-up on low capacitance guitar cables. I have tried an Elixir cable, and wow, the difference in sound was really really HUGE. Wish I could post some samples..., maybe later. I'm an electrical engineer so I don't believe most of the "snakeoil" stuff associated with guitar tone, and this really was a big surprise for me (the extent). My other cable is a short Mogami 2524. The Elixir lifts a blanket off from my guitar sound. It adds treble, presence to the sound. Awesome for cleaner stuff. But one important thing is that it removes some of the boomy low end from the signal. So especially at home or in a "studio" it is a good idea to keep several brands at hand. I feel a Mogami 2524 type (higher capacitance) cable is better suited for hard rock and chugga-chugga metal... etc. But for lighter stuff, I highly recommend checking out a low cap. cable.

• Yes, cables are important.

In my 30 years of playing i've tried a couple and they do play with your tone, but usally only the guitar to amp one? don't know why that is, and if my ears can't hear it I don't really care.

The only conclusion i have come to is price has absolutely nothing to do with it outside of the quality of connectors and the marketing.

Will try the Exlirs though :thumbup:

New talent management advice to Laura Cox -

“Laura want to break the internet? let’s shoot another video of you covering the Nightrain solo in the blue singlet, but this time we’ll crank up the air conditioning”.

• Yes, the difference is only audible between the guitar and the first thing that amplifies /buffers/ the signal.
    I also agree about the price..etc. Unfortunately this Elixir is not the cheapest cable, but it is definitely a keeper for me. My strat type guitar now has all the chime and quack that I was missing previously. I was actually thinking about changing pickups... :), but this is a cheaper solution.