Posts by Verminante

Oh, thanks for the info @paults that's a really useful resource! Still, the only reason I went for CC10 when setting up Ableton back then was that it was not yet implemented in the KPA. Heck, a hell lot of things weren't. "Panorama" didn't even exist for that matter ;)

Ableton itself does not have any pre-configured Midi assignements. (It does, however have a list of "Control Surface Devices" which probably abide by these standard Midi parameters. Unfortunately, the FC 300 is not one of them)

I guess the safe thing to do at this point is just to send midi streams on separate channels for the DAW and the KPA.

So, here`s the deal:

I've been using the KPA in combination with Ableton for a couple of years now. I use two Midi pedalboards (an FCB1010 and an FC300) to control both the KPA and the DAW. Midi goes from the pedals to a merge-box and into the KPA. From there I use the Midi Thru output to send the stream to the Laptop.

Anyway, one of the main functions of my setup has to do with being able to pan phrases in a loop on the fly with my foot. In order to do that, I assigned the pedal switches a specific Midi value, allowing me to "place" the phrase in the stereo spectrum of the looper mix. This panning happens within Ableton though, so my main signal goes straight to the FOH and thus does not “move” around as I play.

So far so good? Ok, so I was recently trying every damn thing to get latency as low as possible on my new laptop and after a program crash noticed that the KPA seemed to be responding to the panning commands.

First thing I checked, was whether I might have accidentally activated monitoring within Ableton and was just hearing the KPA through the DAW. Nope, that wasn´t it.

Next I reinitiated the computer thinking that for some weird reason, something had happened to my soundcard configuration. Nope, wasn’t it either.