Monitor output broken? could really use help on this one

• I am using the profiler alot for recording, but what i'm trying to do now is using it to run a recorded song through a pair of CAPI preamps. I am doing some form of mastering (some form, since i am not a mastering engineer, just doing my best). I have a stereo loop in the mod slot, with output on monitor out set to mod left, output on direct out set to mod right. from the into a preamp, from preamp back into the kemper. The problem only started on one of the preamps. If i only change the output from direct out to monitor out, the problems there, if i change back, its gone. So it is not the cables, et cetera.

The problem is that i get no signal. When i turn the volume up (either on the preamp or the volume knob on the kemper, which is post-fx) the output goes full red, and i get wierd glitch noises. soundclip provided below. The noise starts at different levels. If i turn the gain up fast, the noise begins, even if it not so loud. and if it starts at for example -20 db, i would have to lower the volume far down, to like -40 before it stops. If not for this, i would have thought it was a feedback loop, even though i have no idea how i would have created one.

i send the audio from the computer via spdif into the kemper. When there is a cable in the monitor out, it happens, even when input is front input instead of spdif. If cable is out, there is nothing.

audio: https://soundcloud.com/jesperb…r-troubleshooting/s-g3ct0

I would really appreciate help, i'm at my wits end.

• What I mean is this: When you have a stereo loop in the mod slot, where do send and return go? A loop expects a signal to be sent and returned.

i do use a complete loop.

the chain is
    monitor out + direct out
    goes into the preamps, and out from there
    return input + alternative input.

• This is a broken signal chain. You need to go from send into the preamp.