Posts by domsch1988

Ok everyone, i'm not sure i'm in the right subforum, but i'd like to share a currently evolving idea i have.

So, first things first: I need a midi board for my kemper. I have a Pod HD for that, but thats to big. The Behringer is to big too. Everything else is in my personal opinion way overpriced for what it does. I'm sure not paying 600€ to switch some profiles.
    After browsing for options, i thought that that should be doable as a diy project. After some research i came up with two options: Doepfer makes a Midi board, thats midi in/out/through plus connections for i think 4 buttons and 4 potis. The other option is arduino. There is a native arduino library for midi commands. Since arduino is cheap, readily available and the only downside (the need for programming it yourself) is irrelevant as i'm a software developer i will give that a go.

Alright. The arduino uno has 6 analog inputs and 14 digital ones. Since i want to keep it expendable, i'd like max 15 Buttons and two expression pedals. I'f you want a display and an LED for every button you're quickly runnig out of ports. There is a bigger arduino, but i want to fit it into some kind of smallish enclosure.
    As a workaround, every button gets a different resistor. They are than hooked up i series to a single analog port. The Arduino will "measure" the resistance and by that determin the button pressed. That way you may have nearly unlimited buttons on one port. With 15 Buttons and a bit of math you are even able to sense every two button combination.