Posts by flyingheelhook

Off topic: its refreshing and inspiring to read dialogue from someone who can put forth a competent argument against multiple opponents. Its even more inspiring to see that its a woman, holding her own against a bunch of men. (not that any of them crossed any lines, I am not implying that) I don't necessarily agree (or disagree for that matter), with any of the arguments presented, but I do admire style, finesse, and the ability to remain unflappable in the face of multiple points of opposition. Rock on stormhenge 8)

Probably that is your goal. But mine is to have fun. And some times I have more fun just searching for tones or tweaking than just playing and playing to improve my skills as a musician.

And also, knowing how to get different sounds makes you a better musician. Not only playing your instrument.

I wouldn't say that either goal is mutually exclusive. I know that as I improve as a musician, I have more fun when I play, especially when I play with musicians who have an ear and are listening and responding to what I am playing. It also opens doors when musicians whom I respect, hear me play, and say they would like to collaborate some time. I too have had fun chasing tone and 'the perfect rig', but that has grown tedious for me as I recognize what is of value (to me), and what is not. While I have had plenty of people compliment my tone using both the Kemper and my tube amp, I definitely enjoy the compliments to my playing more. Again, YMMV.