Reamping for complete beginner!

• Hi all!

I've recorded lots of DI tracks using a Yamaha THR10X, and now I want to reamp then with my Kemper tones.

I've read so many threads, FAQs and articles about reamping but it's all going straight over my head! Wondering if you guys and girls could help summarise what gear I'll need (the absolute minimum to make it work).

I have no interface (the Yamaha acts as a USB interface but has no inputs etc other than a 1/4 jack for the guitar), so if anyone can recommend a sturdy one, inexpensive (in the UK too) that'd be great! I've seen the Scarlett ones and a couple of M-Audio ones as well, but will I need a reamping box as well? And SPDIF? This is where I get confused!

Assume I just have my Computer, kemper and a guitar!

What goes where, and what goes in between!

Thanks for any help!

• Either the Focusrite 6i6 or the MOTU Audio Express work with SPDIF reamping. I currently use the Focusrite and am very happy with the unit. No problems or issues. Also, you will need either headphones or a set of studio monitors. I am using the M-Audio BX5 D2 set of studio monitors and the KPA sounds great. Lastly, I am guessing you need a DAW. Reaper is inexpensive and easy on CPU usage.

Hope this helps.

“When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace.”

• If you need an inexpensive audio-interface then check out the Tascam US-144 - it has S/PDIF slots and thus enables you to re-amp. Then you will - as mentioned - need a pair of studio monitors or headphones (for the "left: wet, right: dry" thing - explained in a video from nakedzen which you can find on youtube). And you will need 2 s/pdif cables to connect your interface to your KPA. Thats really all you need for re-amping :)

• Awesome guys, thanks! Got a better idea for interfaces and I Think I'll go for the Tascam us144, based on price as I need a quick turnaround!