Interface pre-amp gain at zero..?

• I'm relatively new to this so this is probably a total 'noob' question, although trying to search the forum for an answer didn't show up anything.

I plug my Kemper directly into my Roland Quad-Capture interface using 2 XLR cables, but what I find is that it clips like crazy on the default volume setting unless I totally kill my pre-amp gain down to zero.

I have yet to experiment with turning the KPA master volume down so that I can actually use some of my interfaces pre-amp gain (haven't had time yet), but in the meantime I just wanted to check if anyone else had this 'problem' and if it was normal..?

Having the pre-amp gain at zero I wouldn't have expected to even pick up the signal, so I find it all a bit strange.

• Does the Roland have settings for the input of mic/line? KPA puts out a line level signal, if the interface is expecting mic level signals you could get this.

Having said that, I usually have my KPA master output at around -17db to make the sound man and FOH board happy.
    The KPA definitely puts out a nice strong level. Don't be afraid to adjust the master outputs if needed.
    Sean

• Does the Roland have settings for the input of mic/line? KPA puts out a line level signal, if the interface is expecting mic level signals you could get this.

Having said that, I usually have my KPA master output at around -17db to make the sound man and FOH board happy.
    The KPA definitely puts out a nice strong level. Don't be afraid to adjust the master outputs if needed.
    Sean

Does the Roland have settings for the input of mic/line? KPA puts out a line level signal, if the interface is expecting mic level signals you could get this.

I don't think there's any settings to be tweaked, it has those inputs where you can stick an XLR or a 1/4 inch jack into the same hole, I don't know what they're called but I guess they're just the standard these days. Then you would just adjust the input gain as normal.