How loud is loud enough (in the studio)

• Up to this point I've been monitoring at just above conversational levels. Same for noodling round with the Kemper, have neighbours to cater for.

They happened to be away for a week and I took the opportunity to turn my monitoring up a few notches and the difference was night and day. This wasn't earsplitting volumes by any stretch, someone sitting next to me in the listening position would still be able to talk and be heard without effort. This would all be more meaningful with an SPL meter but my mate has it presently setting up his home theatre.

Anyway I would say the effect was more than the fletcher munson effect, although undoubtedly that was part of it, and could be the extra sound pressure is over coming some of the inherent sound problems in my room. The difference between commercial profiles from the same vendors was instantly very clear and the overall effect was far more amp like.

I'm no engineer let alone acoustician but I like the effect. Mixing at these levels is something I have yet to attempt and it could be the result is disappointing but for noodling around or jamming to YouTube tracks now is immeasurably more fun!!

Any similar experience from other owners?

• Well, officially people say you should calibrate your monitors to 87dB or thereabouts (or maybe that's mixing for cinema. Can't remember). I find that to be too loud however, so I have mine more around 78dB. Use an SPL meter and you won't go far wrong.

Cheers,
    Sam